Events

Join the Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions and the University Program in Environmental Policy for our seminar series featuring leading experts discussing a variety of pressing environmentally focused topics.

Presenter Topic Location Semester Year
Fall 2014 Seminar Series: David Hardisty
Friday, October 31, 2014 - 10:00am
Tackling Temporal Tradeoffs in Energy Efficiency Field Auditorium, Environment Hall, Duke University Campus Fall 2014
Fall 2014 Seminar Series: Catherine Coleman Flowers
Friday, October 24, 2014 - 10:00am
America's Dirty Secret: Living Amongst Raw Sewage Field Auditorium, Environment Hall, Duke University Campus Fall 2014
Fall 2014 Seminar Series: Phil Duffy
Friday, October 17, 2014 - 10:00am
Representing the United States in International Negotiations Field Auditorium, Environment Hall, Duke University Campus Fall 2014
Spring 2014 Seminar Series: Richard Morgenstern
Thursday, May 1, 2014 - 12:00pm
Update on China’s CO2 Pilot Cap and Trade Programs LSRC A158 Spring 2014
Spring 2014 Seminar Series: Graham Bullock
Friday, April 18, 2014 - 10:00am
The Purveyors of Green: The Organizational Legitimacy of Eco-Labels and Sustainability Ratings LSRC A158 Spring 2014
Spring 2014 Seminar Series: Miriam Lowi
Friday, April 4, 2014 - 10:00am
To Heal the Earth: Environmental Sustainability between Modernity and Tradition in the Arabian Gulf LSRC A158 Spring 2014
Spring 2014 Seminar Series: Jianguo Liu
Wednesday, April 2, 2014 - 1:00pm
Conservation Policies in China and Implications for the World LSRC A158 Spring 2014
Spring 2014 Seminar Series: Angel Hsu
Friday, March 21, 2014 - 10:00am
Seeking Truth from Facts: Data-Driven Environmental Decision-Making and Policy LSRC A158 Spring 2014
Spring 2014 Seminar Series: Gernot Wagner
Friday, February 28, 2014 - 10:00am
Climate Shock: the Economics of Extremes LSRC A158 Spring 2014
Spring 2014 Seminar Series: Susan Christopherson (CANCELLED)
Friday, February 14, 2014 - 10:00am
Shale Gas and Oil Industrialization: How U.S. Communities Assess the Risks and Costs LSRC A158 Spring 2014
Spring 2014 Seminar Series: David Woodruff
Friday, February 7, 2014 - 11:15am
Bioneering: Sustaining Wildlife and People on a Fast-Changing Planet LSRC A158 Spring 2014
Spring 2014 Seminar Series: John DeCicco
Friday, January 31, 2014 - 10:00am
The Liquid Carbon Challenge: Clarifying the Problem Statement for Transportation Fuels and Climate LSRC A158 Spring 2014
Spring 2014 Seminar Series: Michael Beevers
Friday, January 24, 2014 - 10:00am
Narrative and Natural Resource Governance in War-Torn Societies: Liberia, Sierra Leone and Beyond LSRC A158 Spring 2014
Fall 2013 Seminar Series: Jim Anderson
Friday, December 6, 2013 - 10:00am
Indispensable Ocean: Shepherding the Global Partnership for Oceans Blue Ribbon Panel LSRC A158 Fall 2013
Fall 2013 Seminar Series: Neil Brown
Friday, November 22, 2013 - 10:00am
Energy, Security, and Congressional Inaction LSRC A158 Fall 2013
Fall 2013 Seminar Series: John Prendergast
Friday, November 15, 2013 - 10:00am
Conflict and Natural Resources in the Sudans LSRC A158 Fall 2013
Fall 2013 Seminar Series: Christopher Weible
Friday, November 8, 2013 - 10:00am
Understanding the Politics in Colorado Hydraulic Fracturing Levine Science Research Center, room A158 Fall 2013
Fall 2013 Seminar Series: Jonas Monast and Sarah Adair
Friday, October 18, 2013 - 10:00am
Completing the Energy Innovation Cycle: Federalism and the Challenge of Deploying New Electricity Generation Technologies LSRC A158 Fall 2013
Fall 2013 Seminar Series: Bram Büscher
Tuesday, October 1, 2013 - 12:00pm
Transforming the Frontier: Peace Parks and the Politics of Neoliberal Conservation in Southern Africa LSRC A211 Fall 2013
Fall 2013 Seminar Series: Oli Brown
Friday, September 27, 2013 - 10:00am
Building Capacity for Environmental Management in Fragile States: Lessons from Sierra Leone, Afghanistan and South Sudan LSRC A158 Fall 2013

Pages